I love that man

My story takes place in a small local coffee shop in pawlys island sc. I was invited by a dear friend to attend a week long 3DM conference for developing missional communities. We met at 6pm at this coffee shop for praise and worship. They had a band, a sermon, and even communion. How awesome is that! The shop owners got it right by opening up for such an event despite what customers may think and God has blessed them for it. When is the last time any of you have walked into a Starbucks to see that taking place?! As amazing as that alone is, that is not the main point.

During reflection time and communion I went into prayer. Just thanking God for his perfectness and for his Son and for my many blessings. When I opened my eyes after prayer, I opened my eyes to see a man walking up to the register. He wasn’t a regular attender of the service. In all honesty, you would have looked at this man and labeled him homeless just off of looks alone.

Right there at that exact moment, God spoke to me as plain as day. He said, ” I lovE that man.” I stared at him, Lord if you love him I do too! I never met the man in my life but I felt the love God had for him and I was overjoyed.

Come to find out after the service that this man was a regular but never knew about the Sunday Church service going on there. He asked about it and said he was a little shy but was thinking of maybe coming back next week to attend. How awesome is that! If that isn’t a God moment I don’t know what is.

God loves each and every one of us just the same as he loves that man. He hears your cries and will come to you when you least expect it. He doesn’t care about your past, about all your accomplishment or failures, about your wealth or money. He just wants to love you and for you to love him. He wants to take care of you and to send you out to take care of others. What amazes me is how out of the million people on this earth and with everything going on at that exact moment, God took a minute to show me how much he loves us all individually Right where we are, just as we are.

I leave you with the words I left the man in the coffee shop with:

God loves you so much. You are his masterpiece. Perfect to him in every way.

Leave a comment